Beratung

VISIBLE MEANS DOABLE.

 

 

The human brain cannot distinguish between reality and fiction. The more emotional an experience is, the more sustainably it is anchored in the brain. Films, series and theatreplays have a major impact on who we want to be and how we live. Film roles become role models, stories shape our worldview.

 

Let us now imagine a large discussion round in which the values ​​and beliefs of our society are negotiated. What if only a fraction of society is allowed to take part in the debate? Since white cis men currently take up over 75% of speaking time, [1] their perspective becomes more visible. They dominate the discourse - myths of dominance, struggle and heroism with male connotations have become the norm for all genders. BiPoC, people with disabilities, from LGBTIQ * communities as well as with disadvantaged social status hardly occur and are, if at all, usually presented from the perspective of a white elite. This one-sided approach in turn gives rise to stereotypical role models, unconscious prejudices and structural discrimination.

 

FEMALE GAZE is not about devaluing the white, male point of view, but about providing them with alternative perspectives on an equal footing. As media and theater professionals, we have a great responsibility for the impulses we give to society. If we use this responsibility constructively, we can make the world a little better with every story we tell.

 

FEMALE GAZE offers people from the film and theater industry easy access to all important information about gender and diversity - both in the company and in story development. Our experts will advise you first-hand on gender-equitable participation, prevention of abuse of power and discrimination, as well as non-discriminatory storytelling when portraying women and violence against women on stage and screen.

 

You can find our consultation services here:

Beratung

SICHTBAR HEISST MACHBAR.

Das menschliche Gehirn kann nicht zwischen Realität und Fiktion unterscheiden. Je emotionaler ein Erlebnis ist, desto nachhaltiger wird es im Gehirn verankert. So beeinflussen Filme, Serien und Theaterstücke in großem Ausmaß, wer wir sein wollen und wie wir leben. Filmrollen werden zu Rolemodels, Geschichten formen unser Weltbild.

 

Stellen wir uns nun eine große Diskussionsrunde vor, in der die Werte und Überzeugungen unserer Gesellschaft verhandelt werden. Was passiert, wenn nur ein Bruchteil der Gesellschaft an der Debatte teilnehmen darf? Da weiße cis-Männer derzeit über 75% der Redezeit beanspruchen, [1] wird ihr Blickwinkel sichtbarer. Sie dominieren den Diskurs - männlich konnotierte Mythen von Dominanz, Kampf und Heldentum sind zur Norm für alle Geschlechter geworden. Dieser einseitig geprägten Betrachtungsweise entspringen wiederum stereotype Rollenbilder, unbewusste Vorurteile und strukturelle Diskriminierung.

 

FEMALE GAZE geht es nicht darum, die männlichen Sichtweisen abzuwerten, sondern ihnen alternative Blickwinkel gleichwertig zur Seite zu stellen. Mit starken, vielschichtigen Frauen*figuren erschaffen wir neue Vorbilder für unsere Kinder und kreieren ein vielfältigeres Geschlechter- und Weltbild. Neue Arten gesellschaftlichen Miteinanders rücken in den Fokus.

 

Als Medien- und Theaterschaffende haben wir eine große Verantwortung für die Impulse, die wir der Gesellschaft geben. Wenn wir diese Verantwortung konstruktiv nutzen, können wir die Welt mit jeder Geschichte, die wir erzählen, ein bißchen besser machen.

Außerdem ist es außerordentlich erfolgsversprechend, den weiblichen* Blick auf die Welt abzubilden. Stoffe mit vielschichtigen weiblichen* Hauptfiguren, die wichtige aktuelle Fragestellungen verhandeln, sind das Erfolgsrezept der preisgekrönten dänischen Serien, die sich in alle Welt verkaufen.[2]

 

 

[2] “What makes Danish tv series travel? TV drama series as cultural export, transnational production and reception” DEK Media Studies and Communications, FKK project 2014-2018 / „Séries TV - le modèle danois“, Macha Séry in Le Monde, 2012